(English) Uruguay’s 26-man preliminary 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa

13 mayo 2010 | By | Category: Mundial 2010
No Gravatar

Cristian Rodriguez was the surprise absentee in Uruguay’s 26-man preliminary 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ squad named by coach Oscar Washington Tabarez. Porto winger Rodriguez, 24, still has to complete a two-game ban for being sent off during the last qualifier against Argentina.

Tabarez, who was expected to name 30 players instead of only 26, selected most of the players who were involved in qualifying, but midfielders Egidio Arevalo-Rios (Penarol), Alvaro Gonzalez (Nacional) and Jorge Rodriguez (River Plate of Uruguay) were the most surprising inclusions and three of the four home-based players alongside Defensor Sporting goalkeeper Martin Silva.

Tabarez will name his final 23-man squad on 1 June. Uruguay face hosts South Africa, Mexico and France in Group A.

Uruguay squad
Fernando Muslera (Lazio/Italy), Juan-Guillermo Castillo (Deportivo Cali/Colombia), Martin Silva (Defensor Sporting)

Defenders: Diego Lugano (Fenerbahce/Turkey), Diego Godin (Villarreal/Spain), Andres Scotti (Colo Colo/Chile), Jorge Fucile (Porto/Portugal), Martin Caceres (Juventus/Italy), Mauricio Victorino (Universidad de Chile/Chile), Maximiliano Pereira (Benfica/Portugal)

Midfielders: Walter Gargano (Napoli/Italy), Egidio Arevalo-Rios (Penarol), Sebastian Eguren (AIK Stockholm/Sweden), Diego Perez (Monaco/France), Alvaro Pereira (Porto/Portugal), Alvaro Fernandez (Universidad de Chile/Chile), Jorge Rodriguez (River Plate/Argentina), Alvaro Gonzalez (Nacional), Ignacio Gonzalez (Valencia/Spain), Nicolas Lodeiro (Ajax/Netherlands)

Forwards: Sebastian Fernandez (Banfield/Argentina), Luis Suarez (Ajax/Netherlands), Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid/Spain), Sebastian Abreu (Botafogo/Brazil), Edinson Cavani (Palermo/Italy), Jorge Martinez (Catania/Italy)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Comment